Caged Bird Sings

February 26, 2009

Admittedly, I’ve been a bit delinquent in posting. Again. Life has gotten busy, and I MIGHT have been real shopping again. I know. But I felt bad, wanted to “boost the economy,’ and the Amex people need jobs too!

I don’t talk about my job here, since it is somewhat depressing. Quite literally. I spend my days dealing with the dark and ugly things that happen in the world. This may be why I love shopping for things that are bright and beautiful.

Today was an especially difficult day, and I came home wanting to indulge in something that would restore my faith in the goodness of life.  So I baked some fresh pizza, popped open a bottle of Chardonnay, and jumped on the internet to indulge in one of my favorite guilty pleasures: shopping. A few searches later, and somehow I ended up finding this:

bird-cage-veil1

The Fleur Wedge, sold by Unveiled Bridal Designs. This one is $189.90, and is customizable.  Gorgeous.

Now, anyone whose ever met me is probably flat on the floor in shock. I have never been a girl to do any kind of planning for my hypothetical, future wedding. At all. Ever. But have unofficially decided (at the amazing and insightful suggestion of theambershow) that I think I may consider a birdcage veil some time in the future. I’ve started casually, unofficially, occasionally looking for these when antique shopping. Clearly, commitment is not my strong point.

So, for the sake of maintaining my image (bitter & single), I’m posting this for my roommate. She is one of those fabulously fashionable Manhattan gals, who can pull off wearing feathers without looking like half-plucked turkey or drag-queen dressed for Mardi Gras. I’m not quite as bold, and a bit scared off by feathers worn on chicks of either variety.

For the time being, I’ll keep looking for a birdcage veil that is the one. Hopefully by then I’ll have found The One, and have a good excuse to wear a fabulous birdcage on my head!

2 Responses to “Caged Bird Sings”

  1. amber Says:

    have you seen these pretty hair flowers? they might tide you over!

    handlesprout.com and select “flower hair pins”

  2. carissa Says:

    oh i love it! thanks for a stylish shout out!


Leave a Reply

