Silver and Gold

December 10, 2008

I love hand made jewelry. Not that I don’t have my share of cheap, made-in-china, turn-your-skin-green jewelry from your local trendy disposable-fashion stores… but this is not my first love. This weekend I visited the Union Square Holiday Market in NYC, and of course saw lots of fantastic handmade (and some fantastic imported) things that I loved! Really, if you are in the area, check it out! I’ve been looking for some time for hoop earrings. Unfortuntaly, most people who handmake jewelry use the cheap posts, and I can only wear silver or gold. Sad,  I know. I was horribly let down… until I saw these!!!

earring2These are made by debaires. They are two sisters from Argentina, who live in Brooklyn. They use posts that are gold and silver filled (yay!), and make absolutely gorgeous jewelry! Honestly, usually I see more of the same at every booth and am let down. These are amazing. I admit, I bought the earrings. But seriously, how could I not!!?

They also sell bracelets, necklaces, belts, and holiday gifts.

And, even more fantastic, they have a website that you can order from! So in case you are unable to make it to Union Square to see these in person, you can still check them out at www.debaris.com. And if you decide to visit their Holiday Market booth, look for me… I really want a matching bracelet!

Leave a Reply

